Haymarket Books
Books for changing the world
Menu
Menu
9781608468584-f_medium
Why Bad Governments Happen to Good People
A sharp-witted indictment of our broken political system and a vision for a socialist alternative that is truly by and for the people.

The election of Donald Trump has sent the United States and the world into uncharted waters, with a bigoted, petty man-child at the head of the planet’s most powerful empire. Danny Katch indicts the hollowness of the US political system that led to Trump’s rise and puts forward a vision for a real alternative: a democracy that works for the people.

Danny Katch is an activist and humorist often accused of not knowing the difference. He writes a regular column for SocialistWorker.org and his articles have appeared in Truthout, ZNet, and the New York Daily News. He is the author of Socialism . . . Seriously: A Brief Guide to Human Liberation and America’s Got Democracy! The Making of the World’s Longest Running Reality Show.

Reviews
  • “ The perpetual choice between the corrupt Republican Party or the inept Democratic Party has left millions of people without a real alternative in the contests that are supposed to determine our political representation. With wit and clarity, Katch argues for social movements, political activism, and socialism as the alternatives we need to win the world we want. Get this book!”
    —KEEANGA-YAMAHTTA TAYLOR, author, From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation


    “In the tradition of Abbie Hoffman and George Carlin, Sarah Silverman and Dave Chappelle, Katch’s generous, embracing humor is deployed to uncover the deepest truths of our predicament. Don’t miss it.”
    —BILL AYERS, author, Demand the Impossible!


    “This is a moment when politics and laughter are both necessities for survival. Without them we would be lost. Now we have a book that gives us both.”
    —DAVE ZIRIN, sports editor, the Nation


    “If you or your friends and family have been shocked and horri ed since Election Day, Katch will calm you down, cheer you up, and get you ready to ght.”
    —SARAH JAFFE, author, Necessary Trouble


    “It’s horrible, tragic, ridiculous, and full of suspense. But enough about the White House. This book will make you laugh out loud, learn something about our world, and get inspired to change it.”
    —BRIAN JONES, educator and socialist activist

Related blog posts View all related posts

Other books by Danny Katch

  • Socialism . . . Seriously

    A funny and accessible introduction to socialism.
  • America's Got Democracy:

    A humorous put passionate look at the criminal silliness of the U.S. political system.